IAS Preparation requires a holistic approach, and this is what exactly KPS Institute for Civil S

14 Aug, 2018


Before starting preparation, please see if you fulfil following eligibility criteria Nationalit

14 May, 2018

Stages of the examination

UPSC has divided the selection process into three different stages with different pattern of examina

14 May, 2018

Various resources need to clear the exam

Your preparation will need three types of resources 1. Books for subjective knowledge

14 May, 2018

Things to remember before starting exam preparation

Many would say that IAS exam is too tough to crack, hence, secure your post in other exa

14 May, 2018
Blog Archive
  • 2021 (1)
  • 2020 (1)
  • 2018 (5)
  • Categories

    Stages of the examination

    Himachal Pradesh Public Service Commission (PPSC) has divided the selection process into three different stages with different pattern of examination. Each stage is unique in itself to test different skills of a candidate.

    Stage one – Preliminary Exam

    • This stage consists of two papers: Paper – I (General Studies) and Paper – II (Civil Services Aptitude Test). Both the papers are compulsory.
    • Paper – II (CSAT) is only a qualifying examination in which you have to score 33% marks. The merit list is prepared on the basis of marks attained in Paper – I (General Studies).
    • Paper 1 includes current events of national and international importance, history of India, Indian National Movement, Indian and World Geography, Indian Polity and Governance, Economic and Social Development, Environmental, General Science and Himachal Pradesh GK.
    • Paper 2 includes Comprehension, Interpersonal skills including communication skills, Logical reasoning and analytical ability, Decision – Making and problem solving, General mental ability and Basic numeracy.
      This stage consists of multiple choice questions.
    • Each paper is of 2 hours consisting of 100 questions in Paper – I and 100 questions in Paper – II. In paper 1, every correct answer is awarded 2 marks and in Paper – II every correct answer is awarded 2 marks.
      Negative marking of 1/3rd of the total marks allotted to the question is applicable in both the papers.

    Stage Two – Mains Exam

    The main examination shall include compulsory subjects and one optional subject.

    A candidate shall answer the Optional Paper in English or in Hindi as per his/her option.

    No candidate shall be considered to have qualified the written examination unless he / she obtains atleast 40% marks in compulsory papers of Hindi and English and 45% marks in the aggregate (excluding compulsory papers of Hindi & English).

    The marks obtained by the candidates in the main examination (written part as well as interview / personality test) shall determine their final ranking.

    The compulsory and optional subjects and maximum marks fixed for each subject shall be as below:—

    Paper Subject Marks
    I English 100
    II Hindi 100
    III Essay (2 Essays of 50 marks each) 100
    IV General Studies – I 200
    V General Studies – II 200
    VI General Studies – III 200
    VII Optional Subject – Paper I 100
    VIII Optional Subject – Paper II 100
    Total 1100
    1. Indian History
    2. Agriculture
    3. Political Science and
    4. Mechanical
    5. Mathematics
    6. Electrical
    7. Statistics
    8. Civil Engineering
    9. Economics
    10. Hindi
    11. Commerce and
    12. Sanskrit
    13. Chemistry
    14. Urdu
    15. Botany
    16. English Literature
    17. Zoology
    18. Psychology
    19. Philosophy
    20. Geology
    21. Law
    22. Physics
    23. Sociology
    24. Animal Husbandry
    and Veterinary
    25. Public
    26. Anthropology
    27. Management
    28. Forestry
    29. Geography
    30. Horticulture
    31. Medical Sciences

    Stage Three – Personality Test/Viva – Voce

    • Personality Test/ Viva – Voce is conducted to test the candidate’s confidence, speaking skills and on choice of words you make while talking about a societal issue. The candidate is tested on the basis of questions asked from diverse fields, varying from subjective knowledge to candidates’ hobbies etc.
    • Personality test comprises 150 marks. The personality test marks will be added to the Mains marks and the final merit list will be based on marks attained out of a total of 1250 marks.

    Number of attempts for the examination

    • Maximum attempts for a candidate are 4.
    • Ex-servicemen candidates are also permitted 4 attempts at the examination.