Hirakud Dam

News: Water flow into the Hirakud reservoir on the Mahanadi river decreased by 34% in 2017

7 Sep, 2018


Source: Ravines of Chambal Valley About Ravine: A ravine is a landfo

4 Sep, 2018
Blog Archive
  • 2019 (1)
  • 2018 (48)
  • Categories

    NDRF and Brahmaputra


    NDRF men get ready for a search operation in the Brahmaputra in Guwahati after a boat with 40 passengers capsized in the river.

    About National Disaster Response Force (NDRF):

    • The National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) is a specialised force constituted “for the purpose of specialist response to a threatening disaster situation or disaster” under the Disaster Management Act, 2005.
    • The “Apex Body for Disaster Management” in India is the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA). The Chairman of the NDMA is the Prime Minister.
    • The responsibility for disaster management in India’s federal system is that of the State Government. The ‘nodal Ministry’ in the central government for management of natural disasters is the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA).
    • National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) is under the National Disaster Management Authority. The head of the NDRF is designated as Director General.

    About Brahmaputra river:

    • The Brahmaputra is one of the major rivers of Asia, a trans-boundary river which flows through China, India and Bangladesh.
    • The Manas River, which runs through Bhutan, joins it at Jogighopa, in India. It is the ninth largest river in the world by discharge, and the 15th longest.
    • With its origin in the Mansarovar Lake region (Bhagirath Glacier), located on the northern side of the Himalayas in Burang County of Tibet as the Yarlung Tsangpo River, it flows across southern Tibet to break through the Himalayas in great gorges.
    • It flows southwest through the Assam Valley as Brahmaputra and south through Bangladesh.
    • The left bank tributaries of Brahmaputra are: – Dibang River, Lohit River, Dhansiri River, Kolong River.
    • The right bank tributaries of Brahmaputra are: -Kameng river, Manas river, Beki River, Teesta river, Subansiri river