Arctic Region and Arctic Council

The Arctic is a polar region located at the northernmost part of Earth.

8 Jul, 2020


About Brahmaputra River: The Brahmaputra called Yarlung

3 Jul, 2020
Blog Archive
  • 2022 (333)
  • 2021 (480)
  • 2020 (115)
  • Categories

    Current Affairs – 8th June 2022


    • News: Tamil Nadu topped the State Food Safety Index (SFSI) this year, followed by Gujarat and Maharashtra.
    • Details:
      • Among the smaller States, Goa stood first, followed by Manipur and Sikkim.
      • Among the Union Territories, Jammu and Kashmir, Delhi and Chandigarh secured the first, second and third ranks.
      • The SFSI measures the performance of States on the basis of five parameters set by the Health Ministry. The rating is done by the (FSSAI).
    • About Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI):
      • Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI) is a statutory body established under the Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Government of India.
      • The FSSAI has been established under the Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006, which is a consolidating statute related to food safety and regulation in India.
      • FSSAI is responsible for protecting and promoting public health through the regulation and supervision of food safety.
      • The FSSAI is headed by a non-executive chairperson, appointed by the Central Government, either holding or has held the position of not below the rank of Secretary to the Government of India.
      • Rajesh Bhusan is the current chairperson for FSSAI and Shri Arun Singhal is the current chief executive officer for FSSAI.
      • The following are the statutory powers that the FSS Act, 2006 gives to the Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI):
        • Framing of regulations to lay down food safety standards
        • Laying down guidelines for accreditation of laboratories for food testing
        • Providing scientific advice and technical support to the Central Government
        • Contributing to the development of international technical standards in food
        • Collecting and collating data regarding food consumption, contamination, emerging risks, etc.
        • Disseminating information and promoting awareness about food safety and nutrition in India.


    • News: Setting the stage for appointment of the next Chief of Defence Staff (CDS), the government has amended Service Rules of the Army, Navy and Air Force, allowing retired Service Chiefs and three-star officers eligible for consideration for the country’s top military post.
    • About Chief of Defence Staff:
      • The Chief of Defence Staff of the Indian Armed Forces (CDS) is the military head and permanent Chairman of the Chiefs of Staff Committee (CoSC) of the Indian Armed Forces.
      • The Chief of Defence Staff is the highest-ranking uniformed officer on active duty in the Indian military and chief military adviser to the Minister of Defence.
      • The Chief also heads the Department of Military Affairs.
      • The CDS is assisted by a vice-chief, the Chief of Integrated Defence Staff.
      • The first Chief of Defence Staff took office on 1 January 2020.
      • The position was created with the aim of improving coordination, tri-service effectiveness and overall integration of the combat capabilities of the Indian armed forces.
      • At the time of the creation of the post, no analogous position existed.
      • While the Chief of Defence Staff wears the appropriately coloured uniform of their parent service, the gold-wreathed tri-service emblem of the Indian Armed Forces (the Naval anchor, crossed Army swords and Air Force eagle, all surmounted by the national emblem of India) is used in place of service insignia and unit emblems.
      • The wreathed tri-service emblem is also substituted for service cap badges, uniform button and belt badge service insignia, shoulder flashes and the shoulder rank badges of a four-star officer with the four-star gorget patches similar to that used by a service chief.
      • While the car pennant is that of the officer’s parent service, the tri-service emblem is substituted for the rank stars.


    • News: In a message aimed at China blocking India’s membership at the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG), External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar on June 7 said that India looks forward to joining the NSG, overcoming “political impediments”.
    • About Nuclear Supplier Group (NSG):
      • The Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) is a multilateral export control regime and a group of nuclear supplier countries that seek to prevent nuclear proliferation by controlling the export of materials, equipment and technology that can be used to manufacture nuclear weapons.
      • The NSG was founded in response to the Indian nuclear test in May 1974 and first met in November 1975.
      • The test demonstrated that certain non-weapons specific nuclear technology could be readily turned to weapons development.
      • Nations already signatories of the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) saw the need to further limit the export of nuclear equipment, materials or technology. Another benefit was that non-NPT and non-Zangger Committee nations, then specifically France, could be brought in.
      • As of 2020, the NSG has 48 participating governments