Arctic Region and Arctic Council

The Arctic is a polar region located at the northernmost part of Earth.

8 Jul, 2020


About Brahmaputra River: The Brahmaputra called Yarlung

3 Jul, 2020
Blog Archive
  • 2022 (333)
  • 2021 (480)
  • 2020 (115)
  • Categories

    Current Affairs – 20th July 2020


    • News: With the Rajasthan political crisis continuing for the ninth day, the All India Congress Committee (AICC) leader handling Rajasthan, Avinash Pande, on Sunday said the party would decide on “merit” allowing some rebel MLAs back in the Congress fold.
    • About All India Congress Committee:
      • The All India Congress Committee (AICC) is the presidium or the central decision-making assembly of the Indian National Congress.
      • It is composed of members elected from state-level Pradesh Congress Committees and can have as many as a thousand members.
      • It is the AICC that elects members of the Congress Working Committee and the Congress President, who is also the head of the AICC.
      • The organisational executives of the AICC are several general-secretaries selected by the Congress President and the members of the Congress Working Committee.
    • About Congress Working Committee:
      • The Congress Working Committee (CWC) is the executive committee of the Indian National Congress.
      • It was formed in December 1920 at Nagpur session of INC which was headed by C. Vijayaraghavachariar.
      • It typically consists of fifteen members elected from the All India Congress Committee.
      • It is headed by the Working President.
      • The Working Committee has had different levels of power in the party at different times.
      • In the period prior to independence in 1947, the Working Committee was the centre of power, and the Working President was frequently more active than the Congress President.


    • News: Despite India’s repeated demands for reform of the UN Security Council, the process of the expansion of the membership is expected to slow down this year with the final draft of the Declaration on the Commemoration of the Seventy-Fifth Anniversary of the U.N. favouring a softer approach to the issue.
    • About United Nations Security Council (UNSC):
      • The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations (UN), charged with ensuring international peace and security, recommending the admission of new UN members to the General Assembly, and approving any changes to the UN Charter.
      • Its powers include establishing peacekeeping operations, enacting international sanctions, and authorizing military action.
      • The UNSC is the only UN body with the authority to issue binding resolutions on member states.
      • The Security Council consists of fifteen members, of which five are permanent: China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America. These were the great powers, or their successor states, that were the victors of World War II.
      • Permanent members can veto any substantive resolution, including those on the admission of new member states or nominees for the office of Secretary-General.
      • The remaining ten members are elected on a regional basis to serve a term of two years.
      • The body’s presidency rotates monthly among its members.
      • Resolutions of the Security Council are typically enforced by UN peacekeepers, military forces voluntarily provided by member states and funded independently of the main UN budget.