Arctic Region and Arctic Council

The Arctic is a polar region located at the northernmost part of Earth.

8 Jul, 2020


About Brahmaputra River: The Brahmaputra called Yarlung

3 Jul, 2020
Blog Archive
  • 2022 (336)
  • 2021 (480)
  • 2020 (115)
  • Categories

    Current Affairs – 18th November 2020


    • News: The Supreme Court on Tuesday asked the Centre to explain its “mechanism” against fake news and bigotry on air, and to create one if it did not already exist.
    • What is Fake news?
      • Fake news is untrue information presented as news. It often has the aim of damaging the reputation of a person or entity, or making money through advertising revenue.
    • About Cable TV Act:
      • Section 20 of the Cable TV Networks (Regulation) Act, 1995, states that the government can regulate or prohibit the transmission or retransmission of any programme that it feels is not in conformity with the Programme and Advertising Code, which oversees television content in India.
      • However, since there is no body to pre-certify content for TV, potentially problematic programmes only come to notice once they have been aired.
      • The Electronic Media Monitoring Centre (EMMC), under the I&B Ministry, monitors the content telecast on private TV channels to check if they adhere to the Programme and Advertising Code.
      • Specific complaints on code violations are looked into by an inter-ministerial committee (IMC).
      • Rule 6 of the Cable TV Network Rules: It is also the responsibility of the channel to ensure its programmes are not violative of the programme code, laid down in Rule 6 of the Cable TV Network Rules.
      • Sub-section ‘c’ of Rule 6 specifically mentions that programmes that contain attacks on religions or communities or visuals or words contemptuous of religious groups or which promote communal attitudes should not be carried in the cable service.
    • About News Broadcasters Association:
      • The News Broadcasters Association is a private association of different current affairs and news television broadcasters in India. It was established by leading Indian news broadcasters in 3 July 2007. The Association was set up to deal with ethical, operational, regulatory, technical and legal issues affecting news and current-affairs channels. Its founding members were
        • Global Broadcast News Ltd.
        • Independent News Service Pvt. Ltd.
        • Media Content & Communication Service (India) Ltd.
        • New Delhi Television Ltd.
        • Television Eighteen India Ltd.
        • Times Global Broadcasting Company Ltd.
        • V. Today Network Ltd.
        • Zee News Ltd.
      • Membership to the association is governed by qualifying certain guidelines. Besides this, an annual subscription fee has also to be paid by the applicant/member. The Association as on date has 27 members representing 70 channels.

    2.   BRU – REANG

    • News: Leaders of the Mizoram Bru refugees have demanded commencement of their permanent rehabilitation in Tripura in the light of the quadripartite agreement signed in New Delhi in January.
    • About Bru Tribal Community:
      • Reang (Bru) are one of the 21 scheduled tribes of the Indian state of Tripura.
      • The Bru can be found all over the Tripura state in India.
      • However, they may also be found in Mizoram and Assam. They speak the Reang dialect of Kokborok language which is of Tibeto-Burmese origin and is locally referred to as Kau Bru.
      • Like the other Tripuri, the traditional dress of the Reang is simple and plain. Men traditionally wear a hand-woven loin cloth and a piece of cloth as a wrapper for the upper body.
      • Along with this a piece of woven cloth is wrapped around the head by Kamsoi and is known as Kamsoi maitang.
      • The women wear a long cloth called Mnai, a wraparound; from the waist to down to the knees, a Rsa covering the chest, and Rikatouh for covering the whole upper half of the body.


    • News: The Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP), a trade bloc of 15 countries, was signed on November 15 without India, which was part of the long-running negotiations until it withdrew last year. Shyam Saran, former Foreign Secretary, says the decision to opt out was “short-sighted” and will have broader strategic implications for India.
    • About RCEP:
      • The Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) is a free trade agreement concluded between 15 countries in the Asia-Pacific region, namely Australia, Brunei, Cambodia, China, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, and Vietnam.
      • The 15 member countries account for about 30% of the world’s population (2.2 billion people) and 30% of global GDP ($26.2 trillion) as of 2020, making it the world’s biggest trade bloc in history.
      • It was signed at the Vietnam–hosted virtual ASEAN Summit on 15 November 2020, and is expected to take effect within two years, after it has been ratified by the member countries.
      • The trade pact, which includes a mix of high-income, middle-income, and low-income countries, was conceived at the 2011 ASEAN Summit in Bali, Indonesia, while its negotiations were formally launched during the 2012 ASEAN Summit in Cambodia.
      • The RCEP is the first free trade agreement between China, Japan, and South Korea, three of the four largest economies in Asia.
      • It will eliminate about 90% of the tariffs on imports between its signatories within 20 years of coming into force, and establish common rules for e-commerce, trade, and intellectual property.
      • ASEAN leaders stated that India, which pulled out in November 2019, is welcome to return to the RCEP negotiations whenever it is ready.