Arctic Region and Arctic Council

The Arctic is a polar region located at the northernmost part of Earth.

8 Jul, 2020


About Brahmaputra River: The Brahmaputra called Yarlung

3 Jul, 2020
Blog Archive
  • 2022 (264)
  • 2021 (480)
  • 2020 (115)
  • Categories

    Current Affairs – 17th January 2022


    • News: Thomas to take a pickaxe and shovel and dig a 25-metre tunnel through a hill beside his home in Peruvamba Eramam Kuttar gram panchayat in Kannur district of Kerala.
    • About Laterite Soil:
      • Laterite is both a soil and a rock type rich in iron and aluminium and is commonly considered to have formed in hot and wet tropical areas. Nearly all laterites are of rusty-red coloration, because of high iron oxide content.
      • They develop by intensive and prolonged weathering of the underlying parent rock, usually when there are conditions of high temperatures and heavy rainfall with alternate wet and dry periods.
      • The majority of the land area containing laterites is between the tropics of Cancer and Capricorn.
      • Thick laterite layers are porous and slightly permeable, so the layers can function as aquifers in rural areas. Locally available laterites have been used in an acid solution, followed by precipitation to remove phosphorus and heavy metals at sewage-treatment facilities.
      • Laterite soils have a high clay content, which means they have higher cation exchange capacity and water-holding capacity than sandy soils.
      • It is because the particles are so small, the water is trapped between them.
      • After the rain, the water moves into the soil slowly. Due to intensive leaching, laterite soils lack in fertility in comparison to other soils, however they respond readily to manuring and irrigation.


    • News: A digital initiative for managing COVID-19 won a national e-Governance award for Nagaland’s Mon district, a month after the killing of 14 civilians by the armed forces.
    • About National e- Governance Award:
      • The Awards will be given in 6 categories to recognize achievements in the area of e- Governance.
      • This initiative also seeks to disseminate knowledge on effective methods of designing and
        implementing sustainable e-Governance initiatives, to encourage innovations in successful e-Governance solutions and to exchange experiences in solving problems, mitigating risks, resolving issues and planning for success.
      • The National e-Governance Award recognizes some of the best Government to Government (G to G), Government to Citizen (G to C), Government to Business (G to B) initiatives taken by government departments. It also recognizes initiatives in Start ups, Academic Research Institutions as well as initiatives in adopting emerging technologies.
      • The six categories under which Awards will be presented are as follows:-
        • Excellence in Government Process Re-engineering for Digital Transformation.
        • Excellence in providing Citizen-Centric Delivery.
        • Excellence in District level Initiative in e-Governance (i) North-East States + Hilly States (ii) UTs (including Delhi) (iii) Other States.
        • Outstanding research on Citizen Centric Services by Academic/Research Institutions.
        • Innovative Use of ICT in e-Governance solutions by Start ups [Start up as defined by Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion (DIPP) Government of India]
        • Excellence in Adopting Emerging Technologies.


    • News: Nagaland’s capital Kohima is home to a unique cemetery that also has a tennis court.
    • The United Kingdom-based Commonwealth War Graves Commission (CWGC) has listed five sites with unusual features.
    • Details:
      • In 1944, following hard fighting in the Burmese jungle, the Japanese forces in the region pushed across the Chindwin River and into India. In their path was the Fourteenth Army, made up of forces from across the Commonwealth.
    • About Commonwealth War Graves Commission:
      • The Commonwealth War Graves Commission (CWGC) is an intergovernmental organisation of six independent member states whose principal function is to mark, record and maintain the graves and places of commemoration of Commonwealth of Nations military service members who died in the two World Wars.
      • The commission is also responsible for commemorating Commonwealth civilians who died as a result of enemy action during the Second World War.
      • The commission was founded by Sir Fabian Ware and constituted through Royal Charter in 1917 as the Imperial War Graves Commission.
      • The change to the present name took place in 1960.
      • The commission, as part of its mandate, is responsible for commemorating all Commonwealth war dead individually and equally. To this end, the war dead are commemorated by a name on a headstone, at an identified site of a burial, or on a memorial. War dead are commemorated uniformly and equally, irrespective of military or civil rank, race or creed.