Arctic Region and Arctic Council

The Arctic is a polar region located at the northernmost part of Earth.

8 Jul, 2020


About Brahmaputra River: The Brahmaputra called Yarlung

3 Jul, 2020
Blog Archive
  • 2022 (264)
  • 2021 (480)
  • 2020 (115)
  • Categories

    Current Affairs – 15th April 2022


    • News: One of Russian President Vladimir Putin’s closest allies warned NATO on Thursday that if Sweden and Finland joined the U.S.-led military alliance then Russia would have to bolster its defences in the region, including by deploying nuclear weapons.
    • Details:
      • Finland, which shares a 1,300-km border with Russia, and Sweden are considering joining the NATO alliance.
      • The possible accession of Finland and Sweden into NATO — founded in 1949 to provide collective Western security against the Soviet Union — would be one of the biggest strategic consequences of the Ukraine war.
      • Finland gained independence from Russia in 1917 and fought two wars against it during Second World War during which it lost some territory to Moscow.
      • Sweden has not fought a war for 200 years and post-war foreign policy has focused on supporting democracy internationally, multilateral dialogue and nuclear disarmament.
    • About NATO:
      • The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), also called the North Atlantic Alliance, is an intergovernmental military alliance between 30 member states, of which 28 are in Europe and the other 2 in North America.
      • Established in the aftermath of World War II, the organization implements the North Atlantic Treaty, signed on 4 April 1949.
      • NATO constitutes a system of collective security, whereby its independent member states agree to mutual defense in response to an attack by any external party.
      • It was established during the Cold War in response to the threat posed by the Soviet Union.
      • The alliance has remained in place since the dissolution of the Soviet Union, and has been involved in military operations in the Balkans, the Middle East, South Asia, and Africa.
      • The NATO headquarters is located in Brussels, Belgium, while the headquarters of Allied Command Operations is near Mons, Belgium.
      • The organization’s motto is “animus in consulendo liber” (Latin for “A mind unfettered in deliberation”).
      • Since its founding, the admission of new member states has increased the alliance from the original 12 countries to 30.
      • The most recent member state to be added to NATO was North Macedonia on 27 March 2020. NATO currently recognizes Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, and Ukraine as aspiring members.
    • Map of Baltics: